Debussy: Orchestral Works, Vol. 5

Claude DEBUSSY (1862-1918)

Orchestral Works, Vol. 5 – La boite a joujoux / Estampes Nos. 1 and 2 / L’isle joyeuse / 6 Epigraphes antiques

Orchestre National de Lyon • Jun Märkl

Volume 5 of Naxos’s acclaimed series of Debussy’s orchestral music presents a potpourri of works that were either left incomplete by the composer or were orchestrated by others who greatly admired his music. His rarely-heard children’s ballet The Toy Box, dedicated to Debussy’s daughter Emma-Claude but not premièred until after the composer’s death, recalls the innocent world of his popularChildren’s Corner suite. Based on Pierre Louÿs’ Chansons de Bilitis, Debussy’s Six épigraphes antiques evoke poetic scenes from the ancient world, as does the sole surviving portion of The Triumph of Bacchus.

Naxos 8.572568


“Right from the opening moments, Märkl and the engineers create atmosphere… as Märkl creates characters with terrifically flexible tempo changes that are so essential to this music…

Once again the warm, resonant, utterly transparent, best-seat-in-the-house engineering lets you bathe in Märkl’s fluid, ideal pacing and the soloists’ exquisite musicianship.”
International Record Review, October 2011

“It is performed with the sensitivity, warmth of character, fluency and discerning treatment of instrumental timbre that have been the hallmarks of the Lyon orchestra’s playing and Jun Märkl’s conducting on all four of their previous discs.”
Gramophone, June 2011

“Another winner from Lyon…revelatory…these treasurable pieces have never sounded finer on disc.”
Classic FM, April 2011


United Kingdom