Debussy: Orchestral Works, Vol. 7

Claude DEBUSSY (1862-1918)

Orchestral Works, Vol. 7 – Fantaisie / 2 Danses / Rhapsodies

Disc nominated for International Classical Music Award

Orchestre National de Lyon • Jun Märkl

An important marker in Debussy’s compositional development, the Fantaisie reflects something of the influence of César Franck’s Symphonic Variations yet embodies his own new aesthetic. Unpublished in Debussy’s lifetime, it is heard here in its 1968 revision. The delicately evocative Rapsodie for saxophone is an exotic work with an ‘oriental’ atmosphere and Spanish or Moorish associations. Although composed as a Conservatoire test piece, thePremière Rapsodie for Clarinet has long since entered the repertoire as an important addition for the instrument. The glittering Danses for harp and strings recall Satie’sGymnopédies, with the Danse profane in particular calling for a degree of virtuosity. Volume 6 of this much-admired series was praised for its ‘subtle and sensitive readings’. (Gramophone)

Naxos 8.572675


United Kingdom